Legacy

I’ve spent the past couple of weeks musing (like so many of you) about the state of affairs in our beautiful blue world. It’s been a rough month. Hate. Disaster. Greed. So much destruction and death. Heavy, heavy, ugly, ugly, stuff.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

My thoughts were consumed with my hearts true cry for peace. With my belief that peace can only come from individual declarations of peace, kindness, compassion, and love extended outwards to each and every human life – in our speech, in our actions… and yes… in our posts on Facebook.

“Power is of two kinds. One is obtained by the fear of punishment and the other by acts of love. Power based on love is a thousand times more effective and permanent than the one derived from fear of punishment.” -Mahatma Gandhi

Some might say these are dreams. Naive whimsy from a simple woman who can’t possibly understand the complexities of a frightening world. 

“If you want to make peace with your enemy, you have to work with your enemy. Then he becomes your partner.” -Nelson Mandela

I say no way, and call as witnesses a host of sages through time who changed the world with peaceful ideology.

“But here is what I tell you who are listening. Love your enemies. Do good to those who hate you. Bless those who call down curses on you. And pray for those who treat you badly.” – Jesus Christ

If we truly are better. If we truly are right. If we truly wish for freedom FOR ALL. I believe that it can start at home. It can start in our hearts. Those who have gone before and accomplished unmeasurable gains for goodness, justice, peace, love, and freedom have always done so in the face of fierce opposition and extreme personal sacrifice. I believe that to promote peace with love and unity is the most challenging, the narrowest, and the most personally dangerous path. However, I also believe that it is the only path we are truly called to choose.

“We don’t inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.” – David Brower

Our family was granted a healing miracle this week. A dearly beloved, once sentenced to death, is well again. Her life is one devoted to legacy in many ways and her battle to become well again hinged upon her love, devotion, and trust in truth and goodness. I wish to also live such a life. I hope that one of the hallmarks of my legacy will be peace and love when faced with great adversity. I believe that cultivating that legacy must happen in each decision I make.

Every. Single. Day.

As a mother, as a friend, as a daughter, as a human being… I choose love.

One thought on “Legacy

  1. Nana & Papa

    Dearest Michelle,
    It has taken me a while to respond to your entry on “Legacy”. When I read your words, it brought tears to my eyes. Not only have I received the gift of healing – but I have been blessed with family who enriches and expands my life. That has been an inspiration and motivation to continue to move forward – not without challenges – but it does begin with a decision. The foundation of decisions however, is FAITH. We become what we believe. Fortunately, we know Who made us and that He holds our life in His loving hands. With that basis, we can move forward and FAITH becomes HOPE….HOPE brings PEACE….and PEACE brings JOY!

    I have been blessed with a second chance of creating “family”. My family of origin wasn’t a great role model – so I’m doing a trial and error rendition of what I think family should look like. Sometimes I’m wrong – but the motivation remains the same. My legacy that I want to leave is one of gratitude and spreading blessings – recognizing that what is important in life is relationships and love that builds strong and healthy character, honesty and trust. In spite of my mistakes, I pray that I will be remembered for the basic premise of my heart…..GRATITUDE and BLESSINGS.

    You have blessed me with your words Michelle. May you also feel the love that I hold in my heart for you!!!!

    Love,
    Mom C.

Leave a Reply

