What are you waiting for?

I love Natalie Grant. I love how her music has purpose. I believe there is great power in music with a message.

One of her songs has been rattling through my head lately.

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

That’s the title. It’s catchy, but it’s also unsettling. Especially when you hear the rest:

“So you wanna change the world/What are you waiting for/You say you’re gonna start right now/What are you waiting for/

It only takes one voice… give a little more

The words to this song really get me thinking. What if every person took just one tiny step in their own life towards changing THEIR world? What if you decided that this was the time to do something about that SOMETHING that you keep saying needs changing? What if you started right now?

Here’s what I think. I think we all know what we would change. I think we are given in our hearts passions and convictions as they are necessary in our lives that we can ignore or heed. You know what you want or need to do. The question is,

Is now the time to change your world?

What if it REALLY IS THAT SIMPLE?! What if one small change in you could spark a small change in your family, which might spark something new in your neighbourhood, and get others thinking in your community. What if your community helped to change your province, your nation… and what if your nation could lead the world. Friends, I am just that simple to believe that this equation could work. I believe that we are mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, children who can make a difference – around this ball filled with humanity – if we would only heed that tiny voice already telling us what to do.

I tell my kids that I believe it to the bottom of my toes and up through my nose! 😉

Let’s be childlike in our belief in change, goodness, and difference-making. One small step… How different might your world look tomorrow, next week, next year, or in five years if you did? Imagine!

Sneak Peak: I did, in fact, take one small step this week to do something that has been in my heart to do for quite some time (but my bravery meter was running a bit low… I’ve fixed that). I’m not ready to share just yet, but rest assured, fine reader, I am taking my own small steps to make the little world I live in a little bit better too.

To those of you difference makers. Thank you for being you! For the rest of you, just taking the plunge like me… Come on in! What are you waiting for?!

Leave a Reply

